IPL 2020: Eoin Morgan appointed KKR captain after Dinesh Karthik steps aside

Two-time IPL champions Kolkata Knight Riders will see a change of guard as the management revealed that current captain Dinesh Karthik has opted to hand over captaincy of the franchise to Eoin Morgan for IPL 2020. Karthik, who hasn’t had the best of shows with the bat this season, scoring 108 runs from seven matches with just one half-century, made the call with an aim to focus on his batting.

World Cup winning captain Morgan will lead the side when it takes on Mumbai Indians in Abu Dhabi on Friday. Appointed England’s limited-overs captain in 2011, Morgan has led the team to 77 wins from 126 ODIs and 30 wins out of 52 T20Is.

Kolkata Knight Riders Cricket GIF by Hike Sticker Chat

Karthik was appointed captain of KKR ahead of the 2018 season of the IPL, replacing the side’s long-standing skipper Gautam Gambhir, who joined the Delhi Capitals (then Daredevils) after the franchise opted not to retain him. Karthik captained KKR for two entire seasons of the IPL, guiding the team to the knockouts in 2018 and a fifth-place finish in 2019. This year, KKR are currently placed fourth with eight points after seven matches.

शेयर करे

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply